Grad School..to go or not to go?

Decisions…Decisions…..

Well here we are, week 10 of unemployment and no job. I’ve gone on a few interviews in person and I had one over the phone. The first one was at Whole Foods and was a disaster, second one was at a prestigious law firm as a marketing assistant and that one went OK, and the third one was for an Event Promoting company and that one went much better. I was definitely prepared but I think my verbal skills were much better the third time around because of the practice.

I still don’t know what I want to do though. I know there are many things I can do with my skills. I have excellent writing skills, I am highly motivated and can adapt easily to any office environment and job task. I’ve done everything from planning events – 5K races, luncheons with silent auctions, writing grants and securing donations, running a mentor program for abused and battered women, starting a volunteer program, writing articles about the financial market to catering, being a nanny to a 3 month old and cleaning houses! There’s nothing I can’t handle….well except for cockroaches but even now I am learning to just stomp those m’fers.

But I have been thinking alot about the possibility of grad school and the things I want and need to improve on in general. For example:

Creativity
Writing
Improving my resume
Practicing conversational spanish
Self-assesment and assertiveness (professionally and personally)
Social Media Savvy

Do I really need grad school for that?

I am not even sure what my career is going to be. Human Resources? Marketing? Hospitality?

Maybe I should get a job first in one of those fields first, see if I like it and then go back to school for further training in that field. That would be the logical thing to do.

Although, I do like the idea of going back to school. I think what I need to do is get a job, even if its temporary and do what I need to do to prepare for grad school. Get my recommendation letters, my transcripts, talk to a career counselor, and maybe get a job at the school and possibly a grant or a loan.

And stay focused!!!!

Leave a Reply

