How to Cope with Getting Fired : (

How to Cope with Getting Fired : (

So here goes….(deep breath) about a year ago, I was let go of from my job. Unfortunately, this is not the first time I have lost a job. But I do hope it is the last. Being let go of sucks. You can’t help but take it personally. Since graduating from college in 2005, I’ve worked in the non-profit field in the areas of: development, event planning, PR and Marketing and fundraising. I really enjoyed it and worked for a few different non-profit organizations over the years. However, since the downturn of the economy in 2008, non-profits have taken a major hit (as other companies and corporations have) with major losses in public and private funding. This in turn has led  to many non-profits downsizing their departments and essentially hiring someone with lots and lots of fundraising experience as opposed to as novice like me who was still getting her feet wet.

It was really hard on me and my self-esteem and I thought I was a failure. I really enjoyed each and every single one of those jobs. It gave me a sense of pride to be apart of organizations that help the community and seek social change. But the fact is, I just wasn’t a strong fundraiser. I am OK with that now. Its very difficult to do and it’s a lot of pressure. So in a way, it was also somewhat of a relief to not have to deal with that kind of stress in my job. But then I was left with a burning question….”WHAT AM I GOING TO DO NOW?”

“I am going to be OK. I am going to get through this and land on my feet.” I had to tell myself this over and over again.

If you ever find yourself dealing with this situation, I suggest taking a day or two to lick your wounds. You’re going to go through a lot of different emotions. I went through shock, anger, pain, guilt, loneliness and depression. But I learned how to deal with these emotions and it inspired me to create this blog.  I was very fortunate to have a supportive boyfriend and family. But I was also determined to find ways to not let it get me down. So gather your support system – be it close friends and family. File for unemployment benefits (see website below). Evaluate your skills and update your resume. Reach out and contact your network of friends and colleagues. Update your Linked-In profile and let be known to everyone that you are looking. But most importantly….remember to be positive!

That’s all I have to say about that. Please feel free to read my blog on How to Stay Positive and Fabulous While Job Searching which lists ways to keep yourself entertained and your outlook positive through the ups and downs of job searching.

Thank you for reading this. And as always, please feel free to chime in and share your thoughts!

Helpful websites:
Filing for unemployment: http://www.floridajobs.org/job-seekers-community-services/reemployment-assistance-center/file-a-claim/claims-process


Leave a Reply

