Friday Night…Date Night

Oscar and I tried out a new local Vietnamese restaurant called Pho 16. Pho, which is pronounced as “fuh” and not “foe” is a Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup. If you haven’t tried it yet, I would highly recommend it. It’s pretty “pho-king” amazing if you ask me and is now my new obsession. Afterwards, we rented a movie from Blockbusters– both the dinner and movie were Oscar’s suggestions 🙂

We started out with a light appetizer which was fresh shrimp spring rolls that came with a tasty hoison peanut sauce. Then they brought our soups along with a plate of fresh mint, cilantro, basil, limes, peppers and bean sprouts as accompaniments for us to pick and choose from to go into our soups. I ordered an Udon noodle soup with pork and shrimp (bottom left) and Oscar ordered the Pho soup with Beef brisket (top right). See photos below:


I tried Vietnamese soup for the first time this year at a restaurant called Palm Sugar and what a revelation that was! My appetite and palette have been awoken to whole new world of Asian cuisine. I am relatively new to Vietnamese cooking so I am looking forward to going back to Pho 16 to try different dishes which I will definitely be blogging about. For more information on Vietnamese cooking and recipes, you can check out this website: http://steamykitchen.com/271-vietnamese-beef-noodle-soup-pho.html.

After dinner we picked up a movie at Blockbusters. It was nice to just stay at home and snuggle up together on our comfy couch in our cozy apt. We have both been on the go for the past few weeks so it was nice to have a weekend night at home with each other. Plus any excuse to just snuggle up in the dark is fine with me 😉 I mentioned earlier that our date night activity was Oscar’s idea because I think it’s important for both people in the relationship to take turns contributing their own ideas for date nights.

Well that’s all I have for now. Please stay tuned for more.

Do you have a fun or special date night that you would like to contribute? Please feel free to share 🙂


Leave a Reply

