A Berry Delicious Salad

Today’s Lunch: Berry Delicioso!!

For today’s lunch, my co-worker Lynn and I made our weekly visit to Wendy’s for their Berry Almond Chicken Salad. We’ve become addicted to this fresh, tangy and flavorful meal and since we work so close by, we treat ourselves to one once a week. I decided to switch mine up a bit and added more fruits and veggies that I brought from home. And here’s what I came up with:

MMMmmm…doesn’t that look delightful? Perfect for a hot South Florida summer day ūüôā

Ingredients:

  • grilled chicken
  • strawberries &¬†blueberries
  • shaved Asiago cheese
  • romaine lettuce
  • slivered almonds
  • dried cranberries
  • (1/2) avocado
  • sliced cucumbers and carrots

The salad comes with a packet of fat-free raspberry vinaigrette but I substituted it with 2 Tbsps of ¬†Mangrove Island Vanilla Vinaigrette (see photo below). I bought this salad dressing from a local vendor at the greenmarket earlier this year and it goes very well with all types of salads. When I compared it to the fat-free raspberry I noticed the vanilla¬†vinaigrette had less sodium and sugar. Plus it is made with all natural ingredients and is oh so tasty!!¬†The fat-free raspberry vinaigrette would’ve been OK to have too, but I’m glad I had the vanilla vinaigrette¬†on hand.


Health Benefits:
This healthy summer salad boasts plenty of protein and nutrients. The berries are rich in antioxidants and vitamin C.  The almonds supply vitamin E and the Asiago cheese is a good source of calcium.  The protein comes from the chicken.  The avocado, carrots and cucumber pack lots of fiber, vitamins and water which is good for your skin, hair, nails and eyes, also prevents cancer and aids in digestion.

For a more complete list of the health benefits of the foods listed above, please visit this website: http://whfoods.org/

OK, I’ll confess, I followed up my healthy lunch with a small slice of birthday cake a couple hours later. Happy Thursday to me ūüôā

Leave a Reply

