Sleepless in WPB

Have you ever had one those nights where you just couldn’t fall asleep and then woke up super early feeling wide awake the next morning?  Those nights have occurred with me way too often and since last night was one of them, I was inspired to write this post.

Maybe it was pent up creative energy or maybe it was the margarita I had last night with dinner. I don’t know. But for some reason, last night had me feeling restless.

I knew that I needed to have a nutritious, well-balanced breakfast and some caffiene if I was going to make it through the day or at least until lunch time. So I made myself some coffee – of course and tried not to focus too much on the fact that this was going to be a loooooong day. Instead, I  focused on the fact that its Wednesday and that the weekend is halfway here. Yayyy!!
image

Breakfast:
Coconut Oatmeal with peanut butter mmmm….

With the following ingrediants:

  • Quaker Steel Cut Oats (or instant)
  • 1 TBP of Peanut Butter
  • 1 TBP of honey
  • 1/2 cup of soy or almond milk
  • Sprinkles of sweetened coconut flakes

And now you we have a power breakfast.  A bowl of cooked steel-cut oatmeal is an excellent way to start any morning as it is full of protein and fiber. I like the steel cut oats because they are less processed and therefore have more nutrients than the regular instant rolled oats but there is nothing wrong  with using the instant kind either. I love oatmeal along with the added flavors of yummy nutty peanut butter, soy milk and coconut. Mmm….Now lets get this day started!! 🙂

For the rest of the day, I made sure to drink plenty of water. It kept me hydrated and also kept me active with all of my trips back and forth to the bathroom. I also took a short walk outside in the sun just to get a little boost. Then I had another power food for my mid-morning snack which was a hard-boiled egg. More protein for me…yayy!!

Lunch:
Healthy Choice soup – Thai Style Chicken with Brown Rice along with veggie crackers and a slice of light swiss cheese. I like the healthy choice soup because not only is it tasty but its also low sodium : )


For a snack, I had a fresh peach and then later on I split a Kit-Kat bar with a co-worker – GUILTY I know!!

Around 2pm it started to rain cats and dogs!! C’mon!!! 😦 It was making me very sleepy but I turned down the offer for an espresso (we have a machine at work) and powered through until 5pm. Woot woot! Now its time to go home and relax!! 🙂

Just to re-cap, here are my tips along with some additional techniques for staying sane and getting through work with less sleep:

  • Drink caffeine!
  • Drink lots of water
  • Eat a healthy, well-balanced breakfast and lunch
  • Get up and walk around
  • Try to go outside briefly to get some sun or sit by the window
  • Take a 20 minute power nap if you can
  • Be nice to your co-workers and try and take it easy on yourself!
  • Don’t overload yourself with caffeine and sugar. Otherwise you will crash later and might have trouble falling sleep again.

Question of the day:
Have you ever had a restless night that led to a crappy day at work that you want to share? If so, what are your tips?

Leave a Reply

