Green Monster Smoothie

It’s Sunday and it’s another rainy day. For the past few months, my Sundays have been spent getting together with friends to train for the upcoming Tropical Triathlon which is only five weeks away. However, mother nature had other plans for us this weekend so unfortunately we had to postpone our outdoor training. However, my friend Angela and I did the next best thing and went shopping for our triathlon gear instead 🙂 

Last night, Oscar and I went to a birthday dinner with some friends at Gol! The Taste of Brazil and stuffed ourselves with tender juicy cuts of meat, chicken and shrimp rodizio. We sampled everything from Picanha to churrascaria and just when you thought you had enough, the waiters would come by with bacon wrapped filet mignon….yes please!! We went home feeling stuffed!

Dinner with friends at Gol! A Taste of Brazil

I was still feeling pretty full when I woke up this morning but wanted to have something light that I could also take with me on our shopping trip so I made this delicious Green Monster Smoothie that I found on: http://www.iowagirleats.com. See recipe and nutrition info below.

Green Monster Smoothie

I thought it was pretty good and didn’t taste spinach-y at all. Instead it had a smooth, creamy, banana and peanut buttery taste that was very satisfying. It was the perfect breakfast to have after a heavy meal and contributed highly to my productive morning and afternoon. Thank you Iowa Girl Eats!!!

I am happy to say that Ange and I were able to find what we needed, made our purchases and started back home before the storm hit. We discussed other smoothie ideas in the car and she told me about some other recipes using greek yogurt that I will definitely be sharing with you in my upcoming blogs. Stay tuned….

 

 

Ingredients:

1 frozen sliced banana

1 Tablespoon peanut butter

1/2 cup of fat-free plain Greek yogurt

1 cup Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Breeze (or any other kind of milk)

4 cups baby spinach (or more, or less)

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth.

Nutritional stats:

350 calories, 10g fiber, 21g protein

 

Leave a Reply

