Choosing Happiness

They say happiness is a choice but today I feel……..

Do you ever get down on yourself? Do you beat yourself up or ruminate over past mistakes or failures? I am generally a happy and positive person, however there was a time in my life when I struggled with mild depression after losing my job in my career and being in between jobs. It made me feel hopeless and insecure about my future. It also led to feelings of inadequacy in my relationships. I was angry with myself and I felt like a failure.

I saw a therapist, talked to my family and friends and read some online articles which helped a little. All I wanted was to find a way out of this funk I was in, to be at peace with myself and to learn how to let go of the past……


Aha! That’s when I realized that I’ve got to be the one to take control of my thoughts and feelings. I have to forgive and love myself – flaws, mistakes, failures and all. I was tired of feeling bad and constantly beating up on myself.

I stumbled upon a couple of books at called:

The Power of Now” by Eckhart Tolle and “You Can Heal Your Life” by Louisa Hay.

I downloaded the “The Power of Now” into my iPod and listened to it in the car on my commutes, on my lunch break, and during my runs or on a long bike ride. Sometimes I would repeat the same chapter over and over until I felt it sink in. I learned that a lot of the stress and unhappiness we feel is all created in our minds and we don’t have to give those thoughts any importance. And the same goes for any painful and unresolved past events or experiences. We can choose to let them go….(that was a hard concept for me as I realize that I have a hard time letting things go).

I also read the Louisa Hay book called, “You Can Heal Your Life.” It’s filled with inspiring and positive affirmations that help you learn to forgive others and most importantly, yourself. If you are struggling with loving and accepting yourself, flaws and all, I highly recommend this book. I read it over and over again anytime I need to refer to it for a problem I’m having with work or family or just my inner self.

Life isn’t always lemon drops, rainbows and puppies and kitties in baskets. It can also have its ups and downs and moments of light and dark; but to me, that’s what makes it so beautiful. I love this quote by Vivian Greene,  “Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass, its about learning to dance in the rain.

We can’t let other people or events or happenings determine our happiness. Life is full of trials and tribulations and frustrations and stress but you CANNOT let that get you down. You’ve got to snap yourself out of it!!

When I start to get upset or my mind starts to wander into a negative zone, I talk to my fiance or my Mom, I exercise, meditate or journal or write in my blog! It also helps to keep a list of all the things you are grateful for and remember it!  And if all else fails….take a nap. Sometimes our bodies and minds are just tired and we need to rest. And always keep in mind that “this too shall pass“.

Have you ever felt unhappy or unsatisfied with your life or your current situation? It’s pretty common to feel that way at some point in your life. Below are some great websites I have found that are very helpful with getting you out of your funk. Hope this helps!!

http://tinybuddha.com/blog/40-ways-to-let-go-and-feel-less-pain/
http://www.marcandangel.com/2012/04/05/keep-you-motivated-after-a-mistake/
http://www.marcandangel.com/2011/05/01/20-things-life-is-too-short-to-tolerate/

2 thoughts on “Choosing Happiness

  1. brooklynmom1971 says:

    This is such a great blog! I found it VERY enlightening and really made me rethink some things that I have been holding onto myself. It is really nice to know that others are or have gone through the same things in their lives. Thanks!!

  2. sortarandom says:

    lovies!! i kinda wandered away from wordpress for a little bit to explore other platforms but I am so glad I came back and seen how wonderful you are doing at your blogging!! i love this post especially because i went through a time just like that and now i feel i am slowly but surely coming around to seeing the brighter things in life. It sure does help when you have a great guy, an awesome family and in my case a sweet stinker butt like my son to keep my spirits up! I am so happy for you and miss you lots! xoxo

Leave a Reply

