Operation Freedom 5K

I am proud to say that on Sunday, September 9th, Ms. Nicegirl completed her very first 5k!! Its funny, I’ve got myself signed up for a Triathlon at the end of the month and I’ve also completed a 10K (which is 6.2 miles) but have never officially ran in a 5K so I signed myself up for the Operation Homefront Florida Freedom 5K Walk/Run to support the troops. All proceeds go to veterans, wounded warriors and the families of service members, a cause I was more than happy to support. The run took place in downtown WPB right along the waterfront. I finished in just under 35 minutes! Not bad for my first 5K…but I figure I can only get better.

Afterwards, I went home and rewarded myself with some delicious, homemade, protein-packed Greek vanilla yogurt pancakes with bacon! To make the pancakes, I used 1/2 cup of plain Greek yogurt, mixed it with 2 egg whites and a tsp of vanilla extract. Then, in a separate bowl, I mixed a 1/4 cup of whole wheat flour and a tsp of baking soda, combined all of the ingredients and voila! you have your pancake batter.

Greek Yogurt Pancake batter

To get the perfect size scoop, I used an ice cream scooper. Don’t they look good?

Greek Yogurt Pancakes

You can make them with bananas, strawberries or blueberries. Unfortunately, I didn’t have any fruit and needed to go shopping but I did have bacon! So I cooked up the bacon in a frying pan first and used a little bit of the grease from the bacon to make the pancakes so they were extra bacony…(a trick my boyfriend showed me ; )

I took this recipe from Recipe Girl and tweaked it just a bit. If you’d like to get the recipe for her delectable blueberry Greek yogurt pancakes, you can check out her website: http://www.recipegirl.com/2012/08/15/greek-yogurt-pancakes/.

Happy Sunday!!

3 thoughts on “Operation Freedom 5K

Leave a Reply

