Treadmill & Strength Training Circuit Workout

So far this weekend is off to a great start.

First I would just like to say how pleased I am with this beautiful fall weather we are finally having. These past two days have been gorgeous with cool breezes and low humidity. Time to start breaking out the fall and winter clothes! Woo hoo!!

One of the many advantages of not going out and drinking on a Friday night is you get to wake up early feeling refreshed with no hangover. Oscar and I were supposed to go to the Due South Brewery for Oktoberfest last night, but since Oscar’s just getting over the flu, we thought it would be better to forego the booze and went out to dinner with friends instead.

This Morning’s Workout:

I started off with 10 minutes of cardio on the treadmill, followed by an interval of circuit training. Then I did another 10 minute round of cardio on the elliptical at a high resistance level, another strength training circuit workout then finished with another 10 minute round of cardio on the treadmill. I worked up quite a sweat and felt pretty good afterwards.

After my workout I went home, showered, got dressed and made myself a low-fat protein packed pumpkin smoothie.

Pumpkin Smoothie Recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 very ripe medium-sized banana
  • 3/4 cup fat-free vanilla yogurt (I used Oikos 0% fat Greek vanilla yogurt)
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract

The pumpkin smoothie was spicy and delicious and perfect for a nice breezy fall morning. Then I walked down to the greenmarket with Oscar to pick up some veggies and herbs. Unfortunately, it started to rain and we didn’t have much time to linger so we headed home. And now I’m off to the salon to get highlights!!

Have a great weekend everyone!

Leave a Reply

