Homemade Chocolate Chip Cookies

I don’t know what it is about the fall season, but all I want to do is stay home and bake!!

I’ve had a hankering for soft baked homemade cookies for quite some time now. I found a recipe online that looked pretty simple so I figured I’d give it a try. And….it was a good choice : ) They came out nice and crispy on the edges and soft and chewy on the inside just how I like ’em. They also had a rich buttery flavor…..mmmmmm. I even put some extra dough aside and am storing it in the freezer to make some fresh cookies for my boyfriend when he gets home from his work trip…because after-all, I am Ms. Nice Girl 🙂

The recipe was easy to follow compared to some of the other fancy recipes I found online that called for vanilla bean, bread flour (instead of the basic AP) and valrhona chocolate?? and some other frou frou ingredients which are probably very good but I just don’t have time for that. I want my cookies and I want them now!

Recipe: (taken from AllRecipes.com

  • 1 cup of butter (2 sticks)
  • 1 cup of white sugar
  • 1 cup of brown sugar (packed)
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsps of vanilla extract
  • 3 cups of All Purpose Flour
  • 1 tsp of baking soda
  • 2 tsp of hot water
  • 1/2 tsp of salt
  • 2 cups of semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Cream together the butter, white sugar and brown sugar until smooth. (See “How to Cream Butter” below)

3. Beat in the eggs one at a time.

4. Stir in the vanilla.

5. Dissolve the baking soda in hot water and then add to batter with the salt.

6. Stir in the flour and chocolate chips.

7. Drop spoonfuls of dough on to a greased baking sheet and put in the oven.

8. Cook for 10-12 minutes or until edges are nicely browned.

9. Enjoy 🙂

How to Cream Butter:
You can cream the butter by hand with a wire whisk or with an electric mixer. I didn’t have an electric mixer so I went old school and used a wire whisk and wooden spoon. First, make sure the butter is soft. To soften the butter you can leave it out on the counter at room temp for an hour or you can place it in the microwave for 10 secs. You can tell if its soft enough by giving it a poke with your finger – if it leaves an indent than its ready.  Once the butter is soft, slice the butter into cubes, and put the cubes in a large mixing bowl. Beat the butter with a wooden spoon until it is soft and creamy. Then add your sugar(s) to the butter and gently mash it into the butter with a fork. With your wooden spoon or whisk, stir the butter and sugar(s) until they are light and fluffy. Use a rubber spatula to scrape the mixture off the sides of the bowl periodically. The butter is “creamed” when it has almost doubled in mass and it has lightened to a yellowish-white color. Voila!

Cool tip of the day: creaming the butter by hand burns calories! 🙂

Leave a Reply

