Healthy Homemade Waffles

wafflesPersonally, I think every Sunday should start off with homemade waffles or pancakes. My Dad used to make waffles for my brother and I on Sundays and I really miss that so I thought I would try and bring back that tradition to my house.

I’ve been dying to make some ever since I got my brand new Cuisine Art waffle maker for Christmas and decided that this Sunday would be the day! So I got up early, looked up some recipes online and got to work.

I found a basic recipe at All Recipes and made a few healthy substitutions. The waffles were delicious and I look forward to trying out different recipes in the future.

Healthy Homemade Waffles Recipe:
(yields 6 servings)

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup of whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup of  all-purpose flour
  • 1 and  1/4 cups OJ
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 1 tablespoon white sugar or stevia
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions: 

  1. Preheat waffle iron.
  2. Beat eggs in large bowl with hand beater until fluffy. Beat in flour, milk, vegetable oil, sugar, baking powder, salt and vanilla, just until smooth.
  3. Spray preheated waffle iron with non-stick cooking spray. Pour mix onto hot waffle iron. Cook until golden brown. Serve hot.

I made a couple extra and put them in the freezer for later in the week.

Now I’m off for a bike ride with my honey. Happy Sunday 🙂

 

One thought on “Healthy Homemade Waffles

Leave a Reply

