Roasted Chickpeas

I just discovered a most delicious and flavorful snack that helped satisfy my salty chip cravings….Roasted Garbanzo Beans!!!!

I was home alone recently while a leftover bag of Dorito Chips were staring at me in the face and calling out my name…..”Katie!!! Katie!!! Eat me!!!”

Luckily, I was able to keep myself busy with laundry and chores around the house but then I remembered that I’ve been wanting to try roasting garbanzo beans as a snack and that I had two cans in my pantry. So I quickly looked up a recipe and got to work.

I found a lot of quick and easy recipes and variations but here is a basic one below. I also found another recipe for Moroccan Spice Roasted Chickpeas by Kalyn’s Kitchen that I will be trying out next time 🙂

They came exactly as I hoped they would. Crunchy, spicy and just a little salty. They also helped satisfy my craving for those Doritos and aided with my fiber intake for the day. The only downside is that I ate the whole bowl and didn’t save some for later so just Be WARNED!!! Thank goodness I was by myself but I will make 2 cans next time.

Ingredients:
One 15-ounce can garbanzo beans
1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil
Salt
Spice blend of your choice

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 400F.

2. Drain the can of garbanzo beans in a strainer and rinse with water for a few seconds to clean off the beans. Shake and tap the strainer to rid of excess water. Lay paper towl on a baking sheet, and spread the beans over. Use another paper towel to gently press and absorb the water on the beans. Roll the beans around with the paper towel to also remove the thin skin from any of the beans. Discard the skins and the paper towels.

3. Drizzle the olive oil over the beans and use your hands or a spatula to toss around and coat. Roast for 30-40 minutes until the beans are a deep golden brown and crunchy. Make sure that the beans do not burn.

4. Season with salt and spice blend.

Leave a Reply

