Love Languages

Good Morning and Happy Sunday!

I hope you all had a great weekend and a Happy Valentine’s Day whether you are single or coupled.

Oscar and I had a very lovely, low-key Valentine’s Day at Casa Nicegirl.

Unfortunately, the weather was rainy and windy which put a damper on our outdoor grilling plans but we made the most of it and enjoyed a nice dinner at home.

Oscar prepared a steak with chimichurri sauce while I made a salad and we shared  a bottle of  Casillero del Diablo Merlot Reserve. For dessert we had my favorite – mint chocolate chip cookie ice cream and strawberries. It was wonderful 🙂

V-Day dinner

After dinner, we snuggled up on the couch and watched our favorite TV shows: Family, Guy, Modern Family and Tosh.0. We also caught half of the movie The Five-Year Engagement. SPOILER ALERT: I cried a little during the scene in the end when she proposed and they got married. I was very embarrassed but Oscar thought that was really cute and funny. I blamed the wine but I think I’m just a sap that way 😉

I also got a card from my honey (I’m a sucker for cards ;p) and a dozen roses. I got Oscar a card as well with a cheesy poem inside (written by moi.)

vday roses

I told Oscar early on in our relationship that I don’t want big, fancy gifts on Valentine’s Day. I don’t like to buy into the commercialism that goes along with this holiday and restaurants get way too busy and crowded so I was more than happy to stay home. I mean don’t get me wrong, I love going out to eat but I also LOVE Oscar’s cooking. I think he is way better at it than I am. I love how focused and creative he gets and how much  thought he puts into making something special just for us. That’s something that you just can’t buy in a store or restaurant.

I recently read a good book that a friend recommended to me called “The Five Love Languages” by Dr. Gary Chapman. According to the author, there are five main unique languages that couples use to express their love for one another which are: Words of Affirmation, Acts of Service, Receiving Gifts, Quality Time and Physical Touch.

I’m not really sure which one is my main language yet but I think I definitely lean more towards Words of Affirmation and I think Oscar’s main language is Acts of Service. He does the most wonderful, thoughtful things for me all throughout the year which to me speaks VOLUMES.

I’m glad that I read the book and I found it very helpful. I think it’s important for couples to be able to recognize their own love languages as well as the love language of their significant other. That way, we can better express our needs, fulfill our partner’s needs and have a happier relationship.

If you are interested in learning more about the Five Love Languages or would like to take a self-assessment you can do so by clicking on this link:

Well that’s all of the love wisdom I have to share with you today. I hope you enjoy your Sunday and have a wonderful week! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s