Working-out Around an Injury

A couple of weeks ago, I injured my left wrist during a slip and fall on some ice in DC.

It was super-embarrassing and funny! Luckily, my girlfriends were around to help me out.

Boy I tell ya….that ice sure is slippery! 😛

As funny as it is I didn’t realize how bad the wrist injury was until I returned home a week later and was still in pain. At first, I didn’t think anything of it and thought it would go away on it’s own but here we are two weeks later and I am still dealing with the aftermath.

My good friend Brianne, who was with me on the trip and is also a Certified Nurse Practioner told me it’s possibly a strained Tendon so I’ve been treating it with ice, heat, tiger balm, ibuprofun (for inflammation) and keeping it wrapped up in an Ace bandage and a splint and giving it lots of rest. She also said that it could take weeks to fully heal. Yikes!

wrist

It really bums me out but I am determined not to let it get in the way of my exercise. Luckily it’s my left wrist that’s injured and I’m right-handed so it’s easier for me to rest it but I still use it a lot to do everyday things so it’s been a challenge. I just have to remember to take it easy so I don’t put any further strain on it. I know the best thing for me to do is rest so I am not going to push myself too hard. However, I still need to stay active especially since I have an 8 hour desk job.

So needless to say, I have to modify my work-outs. So far, I have been using the elliptical, treadmill and bike so I am still able to do my cardio. I can also do squats, lunges and sit-ups so at least I can work my abs and legs. I tried to do planks on my elbows but even that hurts so I have to give those up for a while too.

I am really hoping that this goes away before my Tough Mudder Challenge which is on March 1st. I guess I will just have to take it day-by-day.

In the meantime, keep your fingers crossed for me and I’ll keep you posted. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Working-out Around an Injury

Leave a Reply

