Coconut Ramen Noodle Soup

Who loves Ramen Noodles? Or I guess the question to ask is: “Who doesn’t love Ramen Noodles?

I remember I used to dine on this stuff regularly when I was in college but I ended up giving it up because of the unhealthy sodium-rich flavor packets.  However, today I found myself craving the stuff when my boyfriend and I were coming back from the pool.

Luckily, I found a healthy recipe on Motherthyme for Coconut Ramen Noodle Soup which I decided to make for the first time today (without using the packet).

coconut ramen noodle soup

The soup was very tasty and easy to make. Luckily, I had all of the ingredients in my fridge and pantry already so I didn’t have to do a Publix run. I was very pleased with this dish. I loved the flavor of the coconut broth and will definitely be using it as a base for future dishes. Plus I like the fact that I can now have a healthier version of one of my favorite college meals!!

Ingredients

  • 13.5oz can lite coconut milk
  • 13.5oz can water
  • 1/2 teaspoon low sodium soy sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon Sriracha hot chili sauce*
  • 1/4 cup frozen and thawed chopped spinach
  • 1/4 cup shredded carrot
  • 3.2oz package ramen noodles without the seasoning packet
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Instructions

  1. In a medium saucepan add coconut milk, water, soy sauce, garlic powder, onion powder, Sriracha sauce, spinach and carrots. Bring to a boil and add in ramen noodles. Stir until ramen noodles are cooked, about 3 minutes.
  2. Remove from heat. Season with salt and pepper to taste if desired and serve.
  3. Garnish with bean sprouts and cilantro if desired.
Leave a Reply

