Women for Women 5K

May has been such a beautiful month!! I always thought that April was the last month of the year before it gets really hot out but besides a little rain here and there, the weather this month has been breezy and glorious!

LW Beach 5K

I was especially grateful for these nice conditions on Saturday, May 18th, when my good friends: Jessi, Alicia and Heather and I participated in the Women for Women 5K on Lake Worth Beach.

IMG_2363

Over a 1,000 runners showed up for the Women for Women 5K, to help support two local charities: Girls on the Run Palm Beach and the Palms West Chamber of Commerce. Girls on the Run Palm Beach is a non-profit organization with a mission that is very close to my heart which is “to inspire girls to be joyful, healthy and confident using a fun, experience-based curriculum which creatively integrates running.”

LW Beach 5K start
We started at the beach, ran over the Lake Worth bridge, through downtown Lake Worth and back. It was a very enjoyable run with nice views,  a warm breeze and friendly runners. Even though my friends and I got split up, I knew I was in good company when I saw other runners encouraging some of the younger race participants and the cheers and motivation we got from our goofy water stop volunteers made it pretty interesting as well. water stop vols

I finished in 32 minutes which isn’t bad considering that I slowed down and walked a few times. Heather and Alicia weren’t too far behind me and Jessi finished 3rd in her age group in 28 minutes!! Yaayy Jessi!! 🙂 We were greeted by fire fighters at the finish line with medals which wasn’t a bad way to end the run either 🙂

mail

Afterwards we celebrated and recooped over veggie omelettes, fresh fruit and lots of water at Mulligans on the beach while we discussed wedding plans and engagement parties (exciting!!)

All in all it was good run and I’m very glad my friends and I participated in it. Next one is the Run, Sweat, Beers 5K in Boca on July 18th. Can’t wait 🙂

Leave a Reply

