Strawberry Lemon Smoothie

Good afternoon peeps!

I hope everyone is feeling good and enjoying their weekend!

Have you ever been in the middle of something and then all of the sudden a strong and uncontrollable food craving comes over you? Well that’s what happened to me the other day. I was in the middle of a booty beat work-out class when all of this sudden this strong craving for lemon and strawberry came over me and it was all I could think about. I think it might have had something to do with the strawberry-lemon waffles my girlfriends and I had earlier in the week at Bay Bay’s Chicken and Waffles. Bay Bay’s has quickly become one of my favorite places to eat with friends šŸ™‚

The lemon and strawberry in the waffle was sweet and tasty and I think it unlocked something in my taste buds that had me craving more – however something in a healthier and creamier variety. So as soon as I got home, I looked up some lemon-strawberry smoothie recipes online and then got to work in the kitchen. I ended up making some changes and modifications to the recipes and came up with my own concoction below. The result was sweet, smooth, creamy, berry-citrusy goodness that was only 212 calories that can be enjoyed for breakfast or as a dessert.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup of unsweetened almond milk or coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup of fat free Greek yogurt
  • sliced strawberries
  • fresh squeezed lemon juice and some lemon zest
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • tbsp of chia seeds

lemon-strawberry smoothie

I have been experimenting with my smoothies lately by using different ingredients that I don’t normally use such as: cucumber and radishes. I also want to start using papaya, apricot, apple, carrot and pomegranate. Ā I will keep you posted and share them with you in case you’re looking to try something new. And please feel free to share any smoothie recipes with me as well šŸ™‚

Ta ta for now!

Leave a Reply

