Peanut Butter Protein Balls

Good morning and Happy 4th of July!!

This morning my friends and I got together for the second round of our triathlon training. I really enjoy our group tri-training sessions and don’t mind getting up early for a fun and challenging work-out with my friends.

I like to get prepared the night before so I can just get-up change, grab my bag and a quick bite and go.  Speaking of a quick bite, check out my recipe for homemade pre work-out peanut butter protein balls. In addition to the protein ball, I also ate a banana and drank a lot of water (the night before as well as the morning of) to properly fuel my body for the swim, bike and run.

IMAG0714

Do-It-Yourself Protein Ball:

3/4  Cup of Peanut Butter (I use Smart Balance)
1 TBSP of honey or light Agave nectar  (optional)
1/2 Scoop of Designer Whey Chocolate Protein Powder
1/2 Cup of dried oatmeal or granola
Small handful of chocolate chips (optional)

In a microwave safe bowl combine peanut butter and honey for 30-45 seconds. Add protein powder, oatmeal and chocolate chips. Mix all of this (it will be thick). Scoop out a spoonful of the mixture and roll it into a ball with your hands.  Place the balls onto a 9X13 inch pan or some wax paper. Then put it in the refrigerator and let cool.

image

I brought a couple of my homemade protein balls for my girlfriends to try and they were a hit 🙂

All in all the mock tri went very well. We started around 8am before it got too hot and the weather was nice and breezy. Unfortunately there were riptides and strong currents which made the ocean rough so we didn’t get to swim.  The wind seemed to be going in both directions during our 10 mile bike ride. It was very challenging but we powered through. Then we ran for a 1/2 mile. The run was good but I could have ran a longer distance so I am definitely going to step it up in the next training round.

Afterwards, I came home and made some coffee and a delicious smoothie with fresh fruit and Greek yogurt for me and my honey. Now for a little relaxation time before some burgers, beer and fireworks! Hope you all have a Happy and safe 4th!!!

IMAG0716

One thought on “Peanut Butter Protein Balls

Leave a Reply

