Easter and Anniversary Weekend

Happy Monday! I hope everyone had a wonderful Easter!

This weekend Oscar and I celebrated our first wedding anniversary. Oscar surprised me by taking me to Benvenuto’s which was the place where we got married. Benvenuto’s is a family owned restaurant and event facility. It holds a very special place in my heart and I loved celebrating our anniversary there. The staff even remembered us and comped our wine and dessert. I ordered the local fresh snapper and Oscar ordered the Pork Loin. Both meals were amazing. Afterwards we went home and watched our wedding video. It was lovely evening with my husband.

Wedding Anniversary 2 Wedding AnniversaryThe rest of the weekend was pretty low key. We did our shopping, completed some chores around the house, spoiled our dogs with Easter presents and then had my Dad over for homemade lasagna and one-year old wedding cake that we defrosted for round two of our anniversary celebration!

Despite being in our freezer for a year, the cake was actually very good.

anniversary cakechampagne

I also got one more surprise today at work which was a beautiful flower delivery from Oscar. I was so surprised. I have never received flowers at work before and it was so nice to get a beautiful arrangement with a sweet note from my husband. It was so thoughtful.

anniversary flowers

On the way home, I decided to surprise him with take out Chinese since it’s his favorite.

I’ve heard people say that the first year of marriage is the hardest but that has not been the case with Oscar and I. This has been a great year for us and I couldn’t be happier. Our year started out with a trip to Ireland and then we adopted two great pooches. We have also worked hard to make a lovely and cozy home and I started a new career in January which I love! I am so thankful for all of these wonderful blessings and I just can’t wait to see what the future has in store for us.

If you read this post, thank you for allowing me to share my thoughts with you on my first year of marriage. I think it’s such a wonderful blessing that deserves to celebrated and I can’t help but want to make a deal about it.

Well I’m done with my gushing for now. I hope you all have a wonderful week!

In the meantime, here’s a Happy Easter photo from our dogs, Baxter and Guinness. (This photo cracks me up…as they don’t look to happy to be hanging out with the Easter bunny :P)

easter bunny and dogs

One thought on “Easter and Anniversary Weekend

Leave a Reply

