Healthy Rewards

happy

Hello there! I hope you are doing well  and that you have some fun and relaxing items on your agenda for this weekend. My husband and I are going out on the town for a friend’s birthday party and then I’m sure the rest of it will be spent doing work around the yard and house, grocery shopping, school work and hanging out with our fur children 🙂

I’m sure that many of you may have heard of Gretchen Rubin. She is the author of the very popular and best-selling book entitled The Happiness Project. I read her book back in 2014 and I loved it! Throughout her book, she shares her scientific research on happiness and her experiments with incorporating ways to be happier into her lifestyle. What I liked most about it was that it didn’t feel too self-helpie (even though I enjoy some self-help books) and that she already was a happy person to begin with. Her main goal was just to find ways to be happier and enjoy life more which is something we could all benefit from. If you have any interest in learning about ways to increase happiness in your life, then I would definitely pick up her book or listen to her Happier podcasts.

happiness project
I was very excited when I learned about Gretchin’s Happier podcasts that she hosts with her sister, Elizabeth. I’ve been listening to her podcasts on YouTube<=== (quick access) during my morning commutes and they are very enlightening and entertaining.  Earlier this week, I listened to one of her podcasts about the strategy of rewards. It got me thinking about the ways I tend to reward myself for getting though a stressful work week and how those rewards can undermine my good healthy habits.

I have found that during busy, frustrating and hectic work weeks, I tend to reward myself with chocolate treats, visits to Starbucks and takeout food for dinner. Although takeout can be very convenient in an emergency, my priorities are to eat clean and avoid high sodium comfort food so rewarding myself with treats and takeout isn’t healthy and often continues into a normal week.

I need to start treating myself with healthy rewards like taking yoga, going to my favorite exercise class, visiting my parent’s pool, taking a warm soothing bath, getting a mani/pedi or a massage, or a new book. Rewards don’t have to be something that I have to eat. As long as I know I have something to look forward to either right after work or that weekend then I will save my money and time for the healthy reward 🙂

Healthy rewards don’t always have to be something that you buy also. Here are some other ways to treat yourself without spending money:

1) Go for a walk. Take your favorite tunes or your spouse, family member, friend or dog.

2)  Practice peaceful meditation and calm breathing.

3) Go to YouTube and find an exercise or yoga video.

4) Visit your local library and check out a book you’ve always wanted to read.

5) Give yourself a mani/pedi.

6) Listen to an awesome  podcast.

7) Write in your journal or blog.

8) Go for a bike ride.

9) Take a day off work for a wellness day.

10) Go for a drive or walk by the beach.

These are my suggestions. What are your healthy rewards?

be happy

Leave a Reply

