Cleansing Green Smoothie

Hello and Good morning! Happy first day of the weekend 🙂

I love waking up early on a weekend with no agenda and no place to rush off to. Although I am an early riser, my mornings still feel rushed and hectic during the week with little time to enjoy the quiet of the morning.  This morning I cuddled with my doggies in bed for a bit before going out for our morning walk.

I absolutely love our morning walks! It’s such a wonderful way to start the day. Sometimes if we’re lucky, there is a cool morning breeze that lets us enjoy our walks more before the heat and mugginess hit us.  Unfortunately that was not the case during this morning’s walk, but that’s OK. We know where the shady spots are and we find ways to stay out of the heat.

After coming in from a hot walk outside, the last thing I wanted was my usual hot mug of coffee. My body was craving something cool and refreshing so I made a Cleansing Green Smoothie! I posted the recipe below and a youtube video (<==== click here) on how to make it. The video features Katherine Nilibrink from Life Trekk.com where I got the inspiration for this delightful concoction.

Fresh Mint
Fresh Parsley
Ginger (I love ginger so I used a 1/2 inch knob)
Pineapple (you can also use green apple or grapefruit)
1 Lime
Kale
1 Celery Stick
1 Cucumber
1/2 Tablespoon of Spirulina
1 Cup of Water
Ice (optional)

 

I blended all of the ingredients with my Ninja Blender for a little over a minute and then poured the smoothie into two mason jars so I can enjoy one later.

 

I had to resist the urge to gulp it down and “chewed” my smoothie instead. I am trying to be more mindful with my eating habits and take my time enjoying my meals. This green smoothie was the right amount of chunky so I let it sit in my mouth for a bit while I chewed it and enjoyed all of the different flavors that made up my delicious breakfast drink.

I hope you enjoy your weekend and do something healthy for yourself.

 

3 thoughts on “Cleansing Green Smoothie

    • Mrs. Nice Girl says:

      I think a lot of people enjoy reading recipes and are always looking for ideas. I know I am! I like your blog and I look forward to seeing your posts and future recipes as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

