Moroccan Style Cauliflower Rice

You know when you open up a cookbook and it immediately opens up to the page with your favorite recipe?? Well I think I’ve trained my newest cookbook to do just that because lately I find myself going to this recipe page A LOT.

I just purchased a new cookbook entitled “Go With Your Gut” by Robyn Youkilis. This book contains tips on banishing bloat and healthier eating habits. It also has seventy-five digestion-friendly recipes with beautiful pictures. Pick it up sometime. You will love it!!

After following her guidebook over the past two weeks, I’ve noticed some positive changes with my digestion issues. I have been able to recognize proper hunger cues, when my belly is full (not stuffed),  I have more energy and I don’t crave crappy food. I also lost 5 pounds! Yaayyy!!!

Her recipes are delicious, unique but easy to follow and make my belly very happy. I picked this book up at a local bookstore but you can also find it on Amazon.

go with your gut

Below is a recipe that I got from her book for Moroccan Style Cauliflower Rice. I’ve always loved Moroccan food ever since I visited Morocco back in 2006. For some reason, I’ve always had a hard time finding Moroccan style cookbooks. So when I saw this recipe in her book I had to make it for my husband and I. The combination of sweet, spicy and nutty flavors was on point and even better as a leftover meal.

13700219_10154260083553614_5552406467572873820_n

Ingredients:
1 head organic cauliflower
1 cup diced white or yellow onion
½ cup diced carrot
1/3 cup sliced almonds
1/3 cup of golden or regular raisins
2 TBSP chopped fresh chive
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/3 Cup of veggie broth
2 TBSP coconut oil
2 tsp of orange zest
½ tsp of cayenne

Directions:
1) Break down the head of cauliflower into large florets. Chop the florets into small pieces and then pulse them in a food processor until they reach a rice-like texture. Do not overchop!  Set the riced cauliflower aside. (I usually make my cauliflower rice in advance and either store it in the freezer for two weeks or in the fridge for up to four days.)

2) Preheat a large skillet over low to medium heat and melt two tablespoons of coconut oil. Gently sauté the nuts for 2 minutes to 3 minutes. (You want a golden color and fragrant aroma).

3) Add the diced onion, carrot and cinnamon and stir well, cooking for three minutes.

4) Add the cauliflower rice to the pan and continue sautéing for one minute.

5) Add the vegetable stock, raisins, orange zest, and cayenne pepper and cook for another 10 to 15 minutes. Taste and adjust the seasoning if necessary.

6) Garnish with the fresh chives and enjoy!!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Moroccan Style Cauliflower Rice

  1. Christina Dilan says:

    Yum. This is paleo too. Definitely want to try. Cauliflower rice is so easy and fun to make. I think my man will even give this one a try!

Leave a Reply

