Bond and Smolders Artisan Bakery

Hello and Happy Monday! I hope you all had a wonderful weekend. I had some pretty cool and spontaneous foodie adventures  over the weekend that this Taurus girl would love to share with you 🙂

One in particular occurred on Sunday morning. I got up early to walk and feed the dogs then headed out to the local Farmer’s Market and also thought that I would surprise my husband by picking up a yummy breakfast for the two of us.

I remembered reading an article in the New Times about a bakery that opened up sometime in the late summer/early fall last year called Bond and Smolders that sells donuts and pastries. I’ve heard rave reviews about this place so I decided to stop by and check it out since it was right around the corner from the Farmer’s Market.

As soon as I walked in, I knew I was in for a treat! I was greeted by a friendly woman at the counter who was decorating these ginormous magnificent looking homemade donuts! I saw labels next to them like maple bacon, smores galore, red velvet, peanut butter cup and nutella. They smelled fresh and looked amazing!


Although the donuts looked delicious, I really wasn’t in the mood for sweets so I continued perusing the counter top and marveled at the large variety of croissants, artisan breads, brioche, muffins, cookies, pastries and vegan baked goods that were on display 🙂

bond and smolders


I ended up ordering the Sultan’s Hat for myself which is made with potatoes, goat cheese,spinach and carmelized onion (below left photo) and the Madame Croque for the hubs which is  a grilled ham and swiss breakfast sammie topped with an egg and bechmel sauce on top (right photo below). They were both divine and kept us full for the entire day.

The gentleman who took my order was super nice and helpful. Since this was my first visit, he took me through the menu that was posted up on the wall so that I could familiarize myself with all of their additional breakfast options. They have quiches, salads, sandwiches, fresh fruit bowls and a wide array of coffee, juices and teas. This place should really be called Heaven!

bond smolders menu

I ordered a cup of coffee while I waited for our order which only took about 10 minutes. The coffee was great and they let you prepare it the way you want to at their little coffee station which is equipped with high-quality honey, raw sugar, cream and milk. As I sat down, I noticed how big and industrial the place looked which you may not expect when you’re looking at it from the outside. There is minimal décor but it has a very comfy and homey feel to it with plenty of seating. I read the paper while I drank my coffee and took note of the families and the younger and older couples who were all sitting down together, enjoying their meals, and receiving very friendly, down to earth service. I kinda wished that I was staying and not ordering my food to go. Oh well. There will definitely be a next time 🙂

There is something very unique and special about this place and I can’t wait to go back with my husband, friends, and family.


Bond and Smolders is located at 1622 Federal Highway (on the southeast corner of Woolbright and Federal) in Boynton Beach and is partnered with Nani’s Dough the baker and creator behind  the beautiful hand crafted donuts.  You can check both places out on Instagram and Facebook as well. If you are in the area or even if you live far way, I would definitely make the trip over there. It is totally worth it!!

Stay tuned for more local foodie adventures!!

Tata for now!

XO,
Mrs. Nice Girl

Leave a Reply

