Baby Dominguez: Weeks 12, 13 and 14

Coming down the home stretch with the first trimester! This is my last first trimester update.

Baby’s Growth: 

Week 12: Baby is the size of a lime!

week-12

Baby is starting to look more human and is there is a lot of development taking place this week like reflexes. Baby can open and close his fingers and curl his toes, eye muscles can clench, and his mouth can make sucking movements.

Week 13: Baby is the length of a pea pod!

week-13

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I read that in Week 13, your baby is able to pick up external sounds! I started having morning talks with my baby and listening to some soft classical music while at work.

Week 14:  Baby is the size of a lemon!

week-14

Baby can squint and make other facial expressions and suck his/her thumb! Baby’s kidneys are also developing so he/she can produce urine.

Symptoms and Body Changes:

Week 12 and 13 were rough. I threw up a lot and my nausea lasted all throughout the day. My doctor said it was probably because of the rapid development taking place before the next phase of pregnancy. That’s all fine with me. I’ll take whatever comes my way as long as it means baby is healthy and growing. Do your thing baby!!

By week 14 I started to feel some relief. The nausea was very light in the morning and at night. I’m also starting to feel more energetic although I do start to get short of breath while doing household chores so I take breaks and rest in between.

Weight Gained:

Although, I’ve only gained a few pounds, my belly is starting to protrude. I’ve gained 3 inches in my belly and my pants are feeling quite snug. By week 14 I broke down and purchased some cute and comfy maternity wear from Stitchfix, Amazon and Target. This momma is gonna be stylin!

Food Aversions and Cravings:

I am still sticking to bland foods but I am trying to incorporate more protein and veggies into my diet.

My new favorite meal is a baked potato! If we are out I get one topped with some chili or some broccoli and cheese. Yumm!

Milestones:

Getting our 12 week sonogram and seeing our baby suck his/her thumb and squirm when Momma poked her belly. We took a genetic test and the results came back normal. Although I wasn’t really worried, it was still a relief. We also found out the gender…..

It’s a BOY!!! I am so in love with him already it brings tears to my eyes! I just can’t stop thinking about Mama’s little man!

bub.jpg

Looking forward to:

Transitioning into my second trimester. I am really tired of the nausea and I’m sick of saltines!!

 Pregnancy Faves:

  • Teecino with warm cashew milk and pumpkin spiceCapture+_2016-10-09-10-45-06.png
  • Baked potatoes
  • Belly rubs
  • Maternity clothes from Stitch Fix
  • Miralax (TMI) but seriously it’s a god send!
  • Chocolate frosty from Wendy’s!
  • Baby Apps – Ovia Pregnancy and BabyBump
Leave a Reply

