Baby Dominguez: Weeks 6,7 and 8

And so the fun begins!!! I’m pregnant! Oscar and I are over the moon excited!!!

unnamed

ko-dinner

I discovered that I was pregnant back in early August and have been writing weekly updates to post on my blog once I was ready to tell the world.  I consolidated my post for each week into groups of three and am beginning with weeks 6-8.

Baby’s Growth:

Week 6: Baby is the size of a lentil!

Week 7: Baby is the size of a blueberry!

Week 8:  Baby is the size of a kidney bean!

During these weeks, baby is growing limbs, eyes and ears, fingers and toes!! Your baby is an embryo and although he/she be little there is some fierce growing and hormonal changes that are happening in your body.

Symptoms:
I’m tired, nauseous and always have to pee! I am also dealt with interrupted sleep from having to go to the bathroom multiple times per night and would often have trouble falling back asleep. There are some other bathroom issues that I won’t mention here 😦

Food Aversions:
Cold chicken, cooked vegetables, hot coffee and anything sweet. (I had a major sweet tooth pre-pregnancy so I welcomed the break from sweets).

Milestones:
I had my first ultrasound at Week 7 and heard my baby’s heartbeat! It was surreal!! We also broke the news to our parents. I know this photo looks like grainy ultrasound but this is my first photo of my developing baby and it is absolutely priceless to me!

first-sonogram-week-7
Favorite Exercise and Activities:
Walking our dogs, yoga twice a week, Leah’s Fit & Sleek Prenatal Physique and Tracy Anderson’s: The Pregnancy Project.

Diet:
Breakfast: Boiled eggs, Greek yogurt, smoothies, oatmeal, and cottage cheese with fruit.

Snacks:  Multi-grain crackers, ginger snaps, nuts, cheese sticks and dried apricots. These snacks were perfect for keeping my nausea at bay.

Lunch: Soup, salad, and Amy’s frozen meals.

Dinner: Stir-fries with some veggies, chicken and brown rice, multi-grain pasta, sweet potatoes and crunchy beef tacos!!

(Tip:  I honored my body’s cravings for carbs but I would also try to include protein and veggies and ate small meals.)

Drinks:  lemon and ginger tea, peppermint tea, lots and lots of water, ginger ale, chocolate milk, and Perrier water.  I noticed the Perrier water and ginger ale made me gassy so I drank it sparingly.

(Note: I avoided coffee until week 8 since the doctor said that one cup a day is fine. It really helped me with my sleepiness during the day but it gave me awful heartburn….wahhh!!)

Advice from the Doctor: Drink lots of fluids, get plenty of rest, exercise is safe but don’t do anything new or too extreme, listen to your body, and stick to small frequent meals as you do not need to eat for two at this point in your pregnancy! And take your pre-natal vitamins!!

Leave a Reply

