Second Trimester Weeks 21-23

Hey everyone! I am way overdue on posting in my weekly prego journal updates. I wrote this this post in real time during weeks 21-23 of my pregnancy even though at the time of posting I am currently 28 weeks pregolicious (more on that to come). In this post, I talk about sleeping issues and what to do if you are in a car accident while pregnant.

Baby Dominguez: Weeks 21, 22 and 23

Baby’s Growth:

Week 21: Baby is the size of a pomegranate!

20161125_204110

My doggies have to be in every photo! 😀

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Week 22: Baby is the length of a papaya!

20161129_101007-2

Hi everyone!! I’m 21.5 weeks old today! 😀

Week 23:  Baby is the size of grapefruit!

No photo for week 23….I’m sorry 😦

How am I feeling emotionally?

Sleep is still a challenge for me. I am having a hard time getting comfortable at night. My body feels like a furnace and I can’t find a comfortable position. I finally bought myself a snoogle and let me tell you that is the best thing in the world!! I should’ve picked one up before I knew I needed it. It supports my back, belly, hips, neck, head and legs and I’ve been able to sleep so much better since. It truly is a lifesaver. I bought one for $40 at Bed, Bath and Beyond and I sleep with it every night. Although there are other people in my house who think that I bought it for them 😉

snoggle

20161120_220149

Sometimes I take a half a Unisom sleeping pill each night so I can get a full night’s sleep. It’s an OTC and the doctor said it was OK but it makes me feel groggy the next day so I only take it when I’m feeling very sleep deprived and need a full night’s sleep.

I still get a little nauseous sometimes but only throw up once a week which is pretty good.

Other than the occasional nausea and sleep depravity (which are normal), I feel pretty good overall.

Weight Gained:

I’ve finally put on some weight and my pregnancy is very obvious. So far I have gained 13 pounds. However, we just got through Thanksgiving and a road trip (where I indulged in some fast food while traveling) so I haven’t been eating the way I normally do.

Food Aversions and Cravings:

I think my diet is back to normal except I can’t eat pork or meat. It just doesn’t digest well with me and I immediately have to throw up when I eat it. I wasn’t a big meat eater to begin with so that is fine with me. I am trying to eat one salad a day and get lots of protein through yogurt, hemp and chia seeds, eggs, peanut butter, spinach and any other plant based protein.

Milestones:

Hitting the 20 week mark and receiving my first anatomy scan!!

Thoughts about my baby:

So far I think of him as a little being that’s growing inside my belly. I daydream about what he will look like and what kind of person he will grow up to be.

Top concerns:

I worry sometimes that I am not doing enough for my growing baby and hope that I am not eating or drinking anything that could hurt him. Should I be drinking coffee? Am I indulging in too many sweets? Am I getting enough sleep and exercise? Should I not be taking antacids?  (I think I know the answer to those questions but I will post more on that later).

My husband I decided to drive up to Frederick, Maryland for Thanksgiving to be with our best friends, Mikey and Annie. The trip went well except we got into a minor accident on the way up while we were driving through Jacksonville. Someone rear-ended us while we were stopped in traffic. The impact caused me to tense up and it pushed me forward against my seat belt. It was a minor event really (although a PITA to deal with). I felt fine so we decided to keep going and not delay our trip any further. We had a long way to go to in order to reach our first over-night stop in North Carolina. But on the way, I felt some light cramping and wondered if it had to with the accident and started to worry about my baby. What if he’s hurt? Should I have gone to the hospital? I called my OB/GYN the next morning and they told me that I should go the ER. But I couldn’t go because we were on the road and we had our dogs with us. So we decided to wait until we got to Maryland.

Thankfully it was only a five-hour drive from the place we stayed the night before but it was nerve wracking to be on the road and not have any peace of mind. Fortunately, I could feel baby moving so I decided to wait. However, as soon as we arrived in Maryland, we dropped off our dogs with our friends and visited the ER immediately to make sure that baby was OK. They did an ultrasound and a blood test and everything was A-OK. Phew!

While I was in the ER, I kept thinking to myself…This is me doing my best. I am doing everything I can to ensure the health and safety of my baby. I really shouldn’t get too down on myself or fall down the path of thinking that I’m not doing enough.

We were very fortunate that the accident wasn’t worse. We were not moving when we were hit and the car that hit us couldn’t have been going faster than 10 mph. Otherwise, I would have went to the hospital immediately. I learned that a baby has so much cushioning that early on in pregnancy but you just never know and I would rather be safe than sorry!

From that experience, I decided to change my thinking around. I am going to be more positive and continue to take the best possible care of myself, to be safe, and make this period of my life the most healthiest I have ever been mentally and physically!

Joys:

Hearing my son’s heartbeat! And feeling him move!! It feels like little flutters inside my tummy.

Last visit to OB/GYN:

When we got back from our Maryland trip, I visited my OB for my 20 week check-up and full anatomy scan. It was really cool seeing all the growth and development my son went through and to see more of his features like his hands, fingers, legs, feet, toes and head. I saw his little legs kicking away!! It was incredible and made my eyes water.

Looking forward to:

I am looking forward to the holidays and visiting with friends and family and them seeing me pregnant for the first time. I am going to relax and stay home and have a low-key Christmas this year but I know that next year will be VERY different 🙂

That’s all folks! Hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving and Happy Holidays 🙂

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

