Baby Dominguez: Weeks 30, 31 and 32

Hello my friends! As I type this, I am in Week 35 of my pregnancy. Crazy, right? Well at least to me it is. It feels like it was just the other day that I was announcing my pregnancy to everyone. Now I’ve got about four weeks to go!

I feel great and am happy to be coming down the home stretch. I haven’t gotten HUGE but I am definitely uncomfortable. I am also very anxious to meet this little being that keeps moving around in my belly all the time!  🙂

Baby’s Growth:

Week 30: Baby is the length of a rutabaga!

20170131_180514_resized.jpg

Week 31: Baby is the size of an eggplant!

20170206_215713.jpg

Week 32:  Baby is the length of an acorn squash!

20170214_201801_resized.jpg

How am I feeling?

Hmmm…let’s see….during these weeks I’ve had to deal with iron-deficient anemia, constant heartburn, and restlessness. I can deal with the heartburn and sleep issues but the anemia is something I have never had to deal with and has caught me by surprise.

Anemia during pregnancy is common and it occurs when the body doesn’t have enough iron to produce adequate amounts of hemoglobin (the protein found in red blood cells). Hemoglobin is what carries oxygen from the lungs to the rest of the body. In iron-deficiency anemia, the blood cannot carry enough oxygen to the tissues throughout your body and it makes you feel weak and tired and low on oxygen.

There are random times when I can feel my heart racing like I’ve had way too much caffeine. I also feel out of breathe, light-headed and fatigued.  I tried different Iron supplements that were prescribed by my OB/GYN and even a gentle over the counter one but they all made me nauseous so I would recommend that you be careful with iron supplements if you are  expecting. They can be very hard to digest.

I informed my Dr. about the issues I was having with the supplements and they found a good one called VitaFOL Fe+ which is an all-in-one iron and pre-natal supplement that did not make me throw-up and I started feeling better within the week after taking them.

 Weight Gained:

I have kept my weight gain pretty steady at 20 lbs. Every one tells me that I am tiny and that I am all belly which is good but I feel huge! I eat little meals and snack all the time so I know my lil baby should be gaining a half pound to a pound a week right now and is well fed 🙂

Workouts:

I am no longer able to do yoga so I just continue with my walks and do some light stretching during the day. I also got a pre-natal massage. Man was that a treat!

I miss working out but I feel so big and my balance is off. I also have no desire to hit the gym when I know that I can just go for a walk outside. The weather is gorgeous right now so I am taking full advantage.

After the baby is born and my Dr. gives me the green light, my plan is to workout a couple times a week in the gym and work out at home. I also can’t wait to go for walks with my son in the stroller or in my baby wraps and the hubs and the dogs 🙂

I don’t want to put any pressure on myself to get back into shape immediately. I want to bond with my son and enjoy my maternity leave. I am a healthy eater and I enjoy exercise but now I’ll just have a different reason and motivation for staying in shape. So I can raise a healthy and active boy 👦⚽⚾🏀🏈🏄🎣
Belly and Baby Movement:

Baby D is always on the move! Especially at night. He must be having a dance party in there or something.

Belly Button In or Out?

In!

Top concerns:

Finding a good day care and a pediatrician.

Sleep:

Hahahaha!! What is that??

Thoughts about my son:

I keep fantasizing about my son being this perfect little being who sleeps through the night and doesn’t get too fussy and is happy all the time. I hope that is his temperament most of the time but you never know so we will just have to wait and see.

Looking forward to:

Taking my maternity leave for 12 weeks!! 🙌👶🍼☕👍😄

2 thoughts on “Baby Dominguez: Weeks 30, 31 and 32

Leave a Reply

