Baby Dominguez: Weeks 36, 37 and 38

My baby is here so this is my last pregnancy post! He is healthy and arrived just as I was about to start week 39 which is considered full term. I can’t wait to give you all the details about my beautiful boy. He is already one month old and so darn precious! Time sure does fly by super fast when you are a Mom!

Baby’s Growth:

Week 36: Lil honey is about 5.5 pounds and is the size of a honey dew melon!

IMG_20170320_181904_870

Week 37: Baby boy is about 6 pounds and is the size of a winter melon!

20170328_221314

Week 38:  My lil pumpkin is about 6.5 pounds and is the size of a pumpkin!

IMG_8141

How am I feeling?

Tired, out of breath, anxious and very irritable. Lack of sleep will do that to you. My work load hasn’t slowed down either and at the same time I have been working on a list of recurring tasks and instructions in order to prepare my team mates for my maternity leave. They have all been so helpful and supportive to me and I feel like we really bonded in the end. I bought them some parting gifts (wine and champagne) to show my appreciation for all of their help during and before my leave.

My brain also feels foggy at times and its becoming hard to think and focus. And did I mention how tired I am??? My feet are also very swollen. None of my shoes fit and I have sciatica in my upper right leg. Fun! These are the last few weeks of my pregnancy so all this discomfort is just par for the course and will be over very soon! Yippeee!

Weight Gained:

20 pounds (I actually lost a few pounds) I read that it’s normal to drop a few pounds right before you give birth so I am taking that as a good sign. I am relieved that I only gained twenty pounds! That shouldn’t be hard to lose. My doctor told me that I would gain 35 pounds so I thought I would be bigger and weigh more. I can’t imagine carrying all that extra weight.

Belly and Baby Movement:

My baby is kicking and rolling around like crazy but that’s good. I managed to capture some cool videos of my belly rolls.

Belly Button – In or Out?

It’s out!

Pregnancy/Delivery Concerns?

I had another ultrasound at week 36 and my doctor told me that my boy was measuring bigger than average by just a pound. According to their calculations, he should weigh 9 pounds by the time he is born and I am still set to deliver naturally. Mama was a little scared. I just can’t imagine popping out a nine pound baby! I’m afraid that it is going to be painful and am also fearful of complications.

I talked to some of my co-workers whom I am close with and my friends about it and they have all been very encouraging. I also keep telling myself that the doctor’s measurements could possibly be off by a pound or two so not to sweat it. Just go with the flow. I gave myself some mantras to follow so I could prepare myself mentally. That really helped.

a7aa645a3426084e4bc2942d8ffce550

Final Preparations

I took some time off one day a week to rest and prepare for my baby’s arrival. I found a great day care center and a good pediatrician that are both close to home. I got my free breast pump from my insurance company and all of my breast feeding supplies ready. I packed mine and my baby’s hospital bag. Oscar and I did a big grocery shopping at Costco and stocked the fridge and we also prepared some delicious food to store in the freezer. We made sauces, soups, muffins, frittatas and casseroles.

Oh and I also prepared a really cute gift basket for the labor and delivery nurses. I filled it with chocolates, breakfast bars, oatmeal cookies, and coffee and tea. I didn’t get to take a photo of it but I was very pleased with the presentation and it was definitely a big hit with the hospital staff! I would recommend that if you have the time to do so. There are some adorable ideas that you can snag from pinterest. Here are some links:

We also relaxed and had some fun. We went to some festivals, attended our good friend’s wedding and went to see a movie. Looking back, I think I was able to balance out the relaxation and last minute prep work during my final weeks while we waited for our son’s arrival.  

I tried to get my house cleaned professionally one last time, the dog’s groomed, and to meet with a photographer for a newborn photo shoot but it didn’t happen beforehand. My lil guy came a week earlier than expected and that was OK with me! Fortunately, we were able to catch up with all that stuff when we returned from the hospital. Well at least Oscar did while I recovered and I am so thankful. You can never be prepared enough for a newborn and sometimes you just have to go with the flow and re-prioritize. 

That’s all folks! Stay tuned for my delivery story and 3 week check-in 🙂

Leave a Reply

